Overview

Nanomaterials are being applied to the aerospace and defense industries worldwide,
with significant growing trends over the next 30 years. However, university researchers
and small companies working to develop nanomaterials to create advanced applications
for the aerospace & defense industries need to understand:

  • How different areas of nonmaterial’s apply to Aerospace and Defense?
  • What are some of the key considerations associated with introducing these materials?
  • What are some of the factors involved in scale-up and qualification? and
  • What future impacts these materials may have on these sectors?

In this webinar, we will examine and discuss the unique physical and chemical properties
that occur at the Nanoscale and how these properties can be used to create advanced
applications; demonstrate, through case studies, how nonmaterial’s are being used
in the aerospace and defense industry, e.g. from development to implementation on
the spacecraft; and Predict future trends and applications of nonmaterial’s, e.g.
Graphene to replace carbon nanotubes in carbon-based electronics, role of nanotechnology
in the affordability crisis, etc.

Who Should Attend

We expect that these Webinar’s will help technology developers (Universities and
small companies) better understand the Aerospace Industry end-user needs and plan
their R&D, product development activities accordingly, as well train the existing
workforce in the aerospace industry to work with nanomaterials.

These webinars are designed for both individual and group participation and would
make an excellent university-sponsored (professors, researchers and graduate students)
company-sponsored, in-house training event.

Webinar Series:

  • Webinar Part 1: March 27th, 2012
  • Webinar Part 2: March 28th, 2012
  • Webinar Part 3: March 29th, 2012
Time:
06:00 – 08:00 (California – Pacific Standard Time)
07:00 – 09:00 (Colorado – Mountain Standard Time)
08:00 – 10:00 (Chicago – Central Standard Time)
09:00 – 11:00 (Montreal / NY – Eastern Standard Time)
13:00 – 15:00 (UK – Western European Time)
14:00 – 16:00 (France, Italy, etc – Central European Time)
15:00 – 17:00 (South Africa – South Africa Time)
16:00 – 18:00 (Saudi Arabia – Arabia Standard Time)
16:00 – 18:00 (Israel – Israel Daylight Time)
16:00 – 18:00 (UAE – Gulf Standard Time)
18:30 – 20:30 (INDIA- India Standard Time)
21:00 – 23:00 (CHINA – China Standard Time)
21:00 – 23:00 (Singapore – Singapore Time)
22:00 – 00:00 (Japan – Japan Standard Time)
00:00 – 02:00 (Australia – Oceania)

Price

$100 (all 3 Webinars, $50 for each) Full-time Students and Small Companies with less than 5 employees 50% off.

Instructors

Dr. Sharon Smith

Dr. Sharon SmithDr. Sharon Smith is currently the President and CEO of S & W Arts and Technologies, LLC, a consulting company primarily in the area of nanotechnology. She is the former Director of Advanced Technology at Lockheed Martin Corporation and led Lockheed Martin's Steering Groups on MicroElectroMechanical Systems (MEMS) and Nanotechnology during much of 2001-2009...

Read More
Dr. Steve Winzer

Dr. Steve WinzerDr. Steve Winzer is a retired Lockheed Martin Fellow. During his 36 years at Lockheed Martin he has led R&D projects in electronic ceramics, MEMM, and Nanotechnology enabled devices and subsystems for sonar, adaptive optics, sensors and high temperature materials. His focus was the development and implementation of these devices into products for aerospace and defense applications and covered the range...

Read More
Dr. Wade Adams, Director, Smalley Institute

Dr. Wade Adams, Director, Smalley InstituteAs Director of the Smalley Institute, Dr. Wade Adams is responsible for providing the vision and direction needed to achieve the Institute's short and long-term goals, ensuring effective execution of the Institute's initiatives, and promoting the accomplishments of the faculty, students, and components...

Read More

Newsletter

  • Enter your email address below to receive updates
  • Your Name
  • Your Email: